Braided Bangle Bracelet

Inspired by a visit at basket maker Dawn Susan during my Scotland travel and a Video Tutorial by Gustamontón I am working on a new paper jewelry technique. I (sort of) braid a bangle out of paper and add fabric to it. After a couple of failed experiments this is my first piece.

Bangle Bracelet by Rubinskaja

Rubinskaja Bangle – paper, textile, glass

For the rolled paper sticks I used coffee-dyed ingrain wallpaper and wallpaper paste and covered them with bees wax before varnishing. For the fabric „sticks“ I used a cotton knitted fabric, wrapped some thread around it and embroidered it with glass beads and added acrylic paint in parts. Both tubes fitted into each other and were glued.

Braided Bangle Bracelet by Rubinskaja

Rubinskaja Bangle – paper, textile, glass

I’d like to keep at this subject for a little bit …

Photos: © Rubinskaja

Note: English is my second language. Please excuse possible mistakes. I appreciate corrections. I really do!

