Dreadlock Paper Beads

After a calm and healthful summer I am back at my work table making various dread beads. These are beads with large holes used mostly for embellishing dreadlocks. So, for women like me. 😉 I create one-of-a-kind beads out of paper, yarn, textile and other materials and they will be exhibited for the first time at the opening party of Rastas Naturales in Vienna on September 13, 2013. I am very happy about that.

This is a glimpse on the first dread beads out of paper.

Dread Beads by Rubinskaja

Rubinskaja Dread Beads – paper, yarn, metal

For these rolled paper beads I used white ingrain wallpaper, which I coffee dyed. After drying the beads were covered with bees wax using a torch and varnished in the end. I made crochet chain casts out of various yarns and attached crimp beads. Voilà.


Photos: © Rubinskaja

Note: English is my second language. Please excuse possible mistakes. I appreciate corrections. I really do!

