Fabric Manipulation

I tried something new – inspired by Jeung-Hwa Park’s Shibori technique.

Three layers of fabric (fleece, jersey and mohair knit) were sewn together, tied using glass stones and thread and put into the oven for about 50 minutes at 200 C°. Stones and thread were removed after cooling, however the shape stayed. Afterwards I cut the first two layers of the fabric and embroidered the bumps with glass beads.

The fleece fabric didn’t take the heat too well, it faded and got a bit fuzzy. And the binding has to be really tight, so the shape stays solid. Nevertheless I think there is a lot of development potential in this technique. Maybe I’ll use it for a bracelet.


Photos: © Rubinskaja

Note: English is my second language. Please excuse possible mistakes. I appreciate corrections. I really do!

